Do you have a question? We have the answer.
The following answers to frequently asked questions are provided to help you as quickly as possible. If you have a question that you believe should be included, please feel free to contact us.
WHAT IS THE PHONE NUMBER FOR THE MAR-MAR POLICE DISTRICT?
Our office number is (563) 873-2500. If an officer is not available to answer your call, you can call the dispatch center at (563) 245-2422.
WHAT IS THE PHONE NUMBER FOR THE CLAYTON COUNTY SHERIFF’S OFFICE?
You can contact the Clayton County Sheriff’s Office at (563) 245-2422.
WHAT IS THE PHONE NUMBER FOR THE IOWA STATE PATROL?
You can contact the Iowa State Patrol at (515) 725-6090.
WHERE IS THE MAR-MAC POLICE DISTRICT’S OFFICE LOCATED?
The office for the Mar-Mac Police District is located at 319 Pleasant Drive, Marquette, IA 52158.
Our non-emergency phone number is (563) 873-2500. For emergencies, please dial 911 .
IS THE MAR-MAC POLICE DISTRICT CURRENTLY HIRING?
For information regarding personnel openings with the Mar-Mac Police District, please contact the Chief of Police at: Mar-Mac Police District, PO Box 69, Marquette, IA 52158 or phone (563) 873-2500.
Any openings will be posted in the Employment Opportunities.
CAN I MAKE AN ANONYMOUS REPORT TO THE POLICE DISTRICT?
Yes, you can withhold your name from the dispatcher when reporting information. Dispatchers and Officers prefer knowing the source of information, but we would rather receive an anonymous report of criminal activity than no report at all. Please be aware that caller ID and enhanced 911 do provide the dispatcher with caller information.
CAN I GET A COPY OF MY DRIVING RECORD?
You can obtain a free NON-CERTIFIED driving record from the Iowa DOT. It is for reference only and cannot be used for official or legal purposes.
You may purchase a CERTIFIED driving record from the Iowa DOT. This record is your official driving record certified by the Iowa DOT and can be used for official or legal purposes.
If you are a business or organization seeking driving record information please go to https://driverrecords.iowa.gov/.
HOW CAN I GET A COPY OF MY CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD?
The Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI) provides several options for requesting Iowa criminal history record information including mail, fax or in person requests, as well as a website that will provide Iowa criminal history record information that is releasable by law without a waiver from the subject of the request, pursuant to Chapter 692.2 of the Code of Iowa. The fee for an Iowa Criminal History Record Check through the DCI is $15 per last name.
The forms to obtain a criminal history record are available here.
WHAT DOES IT COST TO GET A COPY OF AN ACCIDENT REPORT?
Copies of accident reports cost $10.00.
CAN I GET A COPY OF AN OFFICER’S “INCIDENT REPORT?”
When the police district receives a report of a crime, an accident, or other incident, a calls for service report is generated. This call for service details the date, time, specific location, and immediate facts and circumstances surrounding the offense, accident, or other incident. This information is available to the press and public upon request.
Police investigative reports are not public records (Iowa Code Ch. 22.7 ) and are typically not released to the public.
WHY WAS MY NAME RELEASED TO THE NEWSPAPER?
Calls for service, arrests, and charging information are considered public records (Iowa Code Ch. 22.1 and 22.2 ) and must be made available to the media and public. Police investigative reports are not public records (Iowa Code Ch. 22.7 ).
HOW DO I CHECK IF A PERSON IS ON THE SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY?
If you would like to see public information about sex offenders in the Marquette and McGregor area, contact the Chief of Police and he will provide you with that information. General information about the registry can be obtained at the Iowa Sex Offender Registry website.
IF I HAVE DRUG INFORMATION, HOW DO I PROVIDE IT TO AN OFFICER?
Any Police Officer or Sheriff’s Deputy can take this information. You can contact the Police Department or Sheriff’s Office and ask to speak with an officer. If an officer is available, they can take your information at that time. If no officer is available, leave your name and phone number to be contacted at, with the dispatcher and they will forward it to the next available officer.
WHAT IS THE MOST COMMON WAY TO DETECT A METHAMPHETAMINE LAB?
Methamphetamine labs are located most generally by the strong smell of ether. This is used in the process and is a very strong and distinct odor. Stores that carry some of the items used in the manufacture of methamphetamine can tell by purchases that are being made of said items. Some of these items would include: Lithium batteries (unusual quantities), numerous cans of ether, and or numerous amounts of Psuedo Ephedrine pills. It is possible to smell the anhydrous ammonia however most of the time this process is actually done in a different location.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I AM INVOLVED IN A MOTOR VEHICLE ACCIDENT?
First of all, any and all injuries are looked after. If we are unsure if there are any injuries in an accident we always have the ambulance start toward the scene. If we find that no one is injured we then collect information about the accident. This includes information about the drivers and passengers and the motor vehicles that they were driving. Information about each driver is written out and exchanged with the other driver of the other vehicles. Finally, the officer will make a determination if a law or laws have been broken. Officers with the Mar-Mac Police District do not investigate accidents to find out who is at fault. If it is determined that one, both, or all drivers have violated a law, a citation will be issued. Once that is done, each driver should report the accident to his or her own insurance company.
REMEMBER – You must have insurance on your vehicle to drive it or at least be able to prove financial responsibility. If you have failed to supply information about anyone of the two you are subject to a written citation for driving a motor vehicle with out insurance. The cost of this fine is very high and is easily avoided.
WHAT IF I AM ISSUED A TICKET AND I DO NOT AGREE WITH THE OFFICER OR THE TICKET?
You have the option to go to court on any criminal offense or traffic ticket that you are charged with. If you do not agree with the charge one way or the other you should go to court and express your side of things. If you wish, you can hire an attorney to help you or you may go in and ask questions of the officer and state your side of the case to the judge. There is not any use arguing about the charge with the officer because he/she has made the decision and will follow through with it. Your available option is to take your complaint to court.
A MAR-MAC POLICE OFFICER STOPPED ME FOR NO REASON AND I WOULD LIKE TO TALK TO SOMEONE ABOUT IT OR ISSUE A COMPLAINT AGAINST THAT OFFICER. WHAT DO I NEED TO DO?
Contact the Chief of Police at (563) 873-2500 to inform him of the occurrence. He will conduct an investigation himself or can assign an Internal Affairs Investigator to investigate the incident.
WHERE DO I PAY TRAFFIC CITATIONS?
Traffic citations are handled through the Clayton County Clerk of Court. If you simply want to pay the citation, and an appearance is not required, you can either submit a payment online, in person or by an agency, or bring the appropriate copy of the citation to the Clerk of Court’s office, 111 High Street, Elkader, Iowa 52043.
If you must or want to appear in court, the courtroom is located at the Clayton County Courthouse, in Elkader. Your date of appearance is listed on your citation.
For questions or to change a court appearance, contact the Clerk of Court at (563) 245-2204.
If the ticket was issued outside of Clayton County, there should be a corresponding address for the local Clerk of Court’s office near the middle of the citation.
WHERE CAN I GET INFORMATION ABOUT THE CITY’S PARKING REGULATIONS?
If you have a parking problem that needs immediate attention, contact the Police Department at (563) 873-2500. Copies of the Municipal Code, including parking regulations, are available at both city halls.
WHERE CAN I PAY A CITY OF MARQUETTE OR MCGREGOR PARKING TICKET?
There are several options for payment of city parking violations. Drop off boxes are located at both city halls in McGregor and Marquette. If you choose to pay at City Hall, make sure you pay the parking ticket in the city where the ticket was issued. You can also mail the fine with the ticket to the address shown on the ticket, but please don’t send cash through the mail. If you have further questions regarding payment, or have lost your copy of the ticket, please have the license plate information of the ticketed vehicle available and contact the police department at (563) 873-2500.
I GOT A PARKING TICKET THAT I DIDN’T DESERVE. DO I HAVE TO PAY IT?
You may appeal the parking ticket through the office of the Chief of Police. The situation will be investigated using the Municipal Code as a guide and/or discussing it with the issuing officer. If the appeal is denied by the Chief, you may appeal it further by contacting the city hall in the city where the ticket was issued.
DOES THE POLICE DEPARTMENT FINGERPRINT CHILDREN?
We do fingerprint children. The Mar-Mac Police District offers free public fingerprinting sessions as part of their community service program. If you have an immediate need for finger printing your child, please call the office and speak with an officer to set this up.
CAN YOU TELL ME THE CONDITION OF THE ROADS IN CENTRAL IOWA?
The Iowa DOT has an excellent website and mobile application for travelers and truckers to keep up-to-date on current road conditions, delays, detours, and road construction.
Current road conditions can also be found by calling 511 or 1-800-288-1047.
DO THE CITIES OF MARQUETTE AND MCGREGOR HAVE A SEVERE WEATHER OUTDOOR WARNING SYSTEM?
Yes, the emergency outdoor warning system is activated whenever the National Weather Service issues a tornado warning for Clayton County. Additionally, actual sightings of tornadoes by law enforcement personnel or other reliable sources are grounds for activating the warning system. F or additional information, please refer to local radio and television stations – please do not call the police department during severe weather situations unless you have an actual emergency.
HOW CAN I OBTAIN A NO CONTACT/RESTRAINING ORDER AGAINST SOMEONE?
There are several ways to obtain a restraining order against someone. You may want to consult with a private attorney, and have them represent you. In cases of domestic abuse, a victim can go directly to the Clerk of Courts Office and get assistance with the paperwork.
I RECEIVED AN OBSCENE/HARASSING PHONE CALL. WHAT SHOULD I DO?
If you receive repeated prank phone calls, phone harassment or other calls that might require follow-up with specialized phone equipment, you are urged to contact the telephone company directly. You may be asked to report the situation to police and sign a form before anything can be done. For more information, contact the police department.
WAS MY STRAY PET PICKED UP BY A MAR-MAC POLICE OFFICER?
Officers make every attempt to locate, identify, and return a stray pet to its owner. At times, due to other calls that may be pending or a number of other reasons, the pet must be taken to a shelter until the owner can be notified. All questions concerning animal control, both domestic and native animals, should be directed to the veterinary service that both Marquette and McGregor have contracted for this type of service.
The current contract is with Southwest Veterinary Clinic located in Prairie Du Chien, WI. The phone number is (608) 326-6464.
I WANT TO REPORT A MISSING PERSON. WHAT INFORMATION DO I NEED?
A missing person is defined as any individual, of any age, who is missing and is under any proven physical or mental disability, or who is missing under circumstances indicating that his/her physical safety is in danger, or under circumstances indicating the disappearance is not voluntary, or after a catastrophe. In the case of minor children: abducted by a non-custodial parent ,or lost.
In order to report a missing person, you must appear in person at the police station, complete a detailed description of the missing person, and indicate why you believe the person should be considered missing in the context of the above definition.
HOW DO I ACQUIRE A PERMIT TO PURCHASE A WEAPON OR A WEAPON’S PERMIT?
To obtain a permit to purchase, or to obtain a weapon permit, contact the Clayton County Sheriff’s Office at (563) 245-1412.
Additional information and requirements can be found here.